So it's been a little while...
As of late I get the feeling God hates me, lol. Still no sign of my car, which as of now isn't as bad as if they would find it. Cause if they do find it then I have to pay to get it towed, I have to pay fees and if it's undriveable I have to pay to get it junked, so not fun!So I'm in the process of buying a new car, but because of title issues it's not looking like I'll be able to actually have it in my possession next week. I'm buying a 2001 Honda Civic EX. It's a pretty nice car, has a moon roof and cd player and, you guessed it, an anti-theft device! Plus it's one of the few cars I could get good insurance rates on. It kinda sucks being 21 and not getting good rates because of the area I live in... it's going to be around $200 a month in insurance and a $233 a month car payment... suckage.So I've been having Tom cart my butt around for the past two weeks, poor kid. I owe him sooooo big, he's not gonna like it when I tell him he's got another week of it either. Maybe I'll just try out the roommate for a few days to give him a break. I miss the freedom of driving myself though, and of being able to go where I want to go when I want to go.Followed all that up by breaking my last pair of contacts. So the glasses have made their first public apperance in 4 years..... makes me feel all sorts of wierd.On a bright note, I've been hearing from a lot of friends and family members lately! I miss you guys too and I love the messages. Please be patient if I don't return your call right away, I've been really busy trying to get things straightened out, but I promise it'll get better!At least that's what I've been telling myself.....
Stolen Car
So I was on a business trip to Ohio on Thursday which means I worked late Wednesday, parked my car around 8:15 pm and then went to bed early so that I could get to bed at a decent time, seeings how I had to get up at 4am. So I get up at 4, my roommate takes me to the airport around 5am and we go out the back, never once thinking about my own vehicle. I visit Ohio, meet with my clients, have a pretty good day (got to see my favorite people from ABN, Becky Anway and Dale Minyo and my best friend!!). I arrived back in St. Louis and was home probably close to 7:30 or so and once again, we come in from the back and it never occurs to me to look out the front window...So yesterday morning I venture out to go to work and woah... there's no car where I parked it. Yup someone actually stole my 1996 teal Dodge Intrepid with two broken windows (shattered during my tenure at The Ohio State University) with a yellow streak down the passenger side (stupid pole being in the way...) and a dent the size of a dinner plate on the front driver's side hood (tree that fell on it a few weeks ago did that...). I mean really, it wasn't pretty, but it ran, so now I'm SOL. Due to finances I'd only had liablility on the car, so that came back to bite me in the ass. Now if they don't find the car I"m going to have to figure out how to afford a new one and full coverage insurance...sigh.And things were going so good before yesterday... just my luck, lol. Life doesn't like for me to be happy for too long, it balances everything out eventually...So yeah, anyways, I'm heading to Buffalo, NY today for a buisness trip. I've got to figure out how the heck I'm getting to the airport now... and then if the car doesn't appear I dunno what I'm going to do. I've got to get the key to my car to my place of work so that one of my coworkers can pick up my car if it shows up while I'm gone. So it sucks being in St. Louis for this since I don't have that many people here I can ask for rides or favors...So keep me in mind and wish me luck folks...
The weekend
So the weekend ended up being a bit better than previously thought! Though I'm still sad about not having a dinner co-op night...
I took Tom to see an Australian zombie movie calle "Undead" on Friday night. The Tivoli, an old theatre that was remodeled and restored shows a bunch of foreign films and the like and so I lucked out when they combined two of his current favortie things, foreign movies and zombies. It was kinda funny. Definitely a B movie, but entertaining none the less!
The baby sitting was canceled, so the following day I did some shopping...cringe (spent more than I wanted too...) but I managed to snag a new dinner set (plates, salad plates and bowls) that I loved for $3 an item!! That's pretty darn cheap if you ask me! Plus they made me happy... so there, I've justified the expenditure to myself...
We followed the shopping up with a bluegrass show out in Susson park, which happens to be a mini farm. It's kinda sad that they have to put cows and horses in a barn and turn it into a park so that kids actually know what they are. It was a good setting for a little bluegrass though and a great night to be sitting out on blankets. Then we went on an IHOP run, but as luck has it, we never found an open one. We managed to get ourselves somewhat lost before finding an Uncle Bill's. So we stopped at the Uncle Bill's on Manchester and had food, then left looking for ice cream or something sweet to top the night off! Of course nothing was open... so we went to the second Uncle Bill's on Kingshighway and got pecan pancakes! Good, but we were stuffed!!
Sunday I spent cleaning (ick!) but it was needed. Then I lounged outside with my current book "The Magic of Recluse", it's ok, but I'm not too excited right now... Finished the night with a little "home spa" routine that made me happy and followed that with sleep!!
Still managed to have to cook on Sunday even without the dinner party since we had a potluck lunch for Marisa (basically my boss on most of my projects) It went over well at both places, so I think I'm on to something!I start traveling for work this week, so I'm a little nervous and excited. I know it probably won't be as much fun as I'm hoping, but still... I'm going to Ohio on Thursday for the day. I'm not looking forward to getting up at 4:30... sigh. Hoping to maybe see my mom for dinner before my flight leaves, but that all depends on my sister's softball team and their games.I'm no sooner back from Ohio before I'm repacking the suitcase to head out to Buffalo, NY on Saturday for 4 days. I'm hoping to get to see Nick while I'm out there since his med school isn't too far from Buffalo, but we'll see what happens. It's hard to believe it's been like a year since he left and since the last time I saw him. This should be interesting... and I promise for all you that are familiar with this story line in my life that I'll be good...I really hope these trips are fun, cause if not... (shakes fist in a manner that would make Adam and Alan proud)
Ah the Friday...
Such an unproductive day Friday, I mean no one really feels like working, everyone is thinking about what they want to do on the weekend and no one really wants to be wherever they are unless they're on vacation!Well it's been a busy week here actually. Most of the team is out at the July Board Meeting, leaving me and Stephanie (our intern, which at this point in time is kinda weird for me, cause she's like 2 years older than I am and for once I have an intern, I'm not the intern, lol) So it's all quiet in Contact Relations Land, but I've actually been busy with this whole blog thing... I've just discovered the true "definition" of a blog. According to my tech savvy friend, a blog is only supposed to be a place for one person to post their thoughts, ideas, comments and the like for everyone to see. Consider it a modern day diary that you actually have to be careful what you write because anyone can see it. But blogs aren't meant for groups to utilize, so now I'm in the planning stages for creating a community bulletin board. Today I got to sketch out how I wanted the bulletin board to look (too bad I didn't have crayons, cause that would have rocked!!) but hey, I got to spend some time drawing for work, that's kinda fun!I'm still a little tired from the whirlwind trip to New Orleans last weekend and it's many ups and downs. Not sleeping (ok ok, so I had like a two hour nap and Tom didn't sleep) for more than 24 hours is hard to make up for later. So I've been a bum and I've been hitting the sack or at least crawling into bed between 9-11 all week long...I'm trying to figure out what to do this weekend since things seem to be a little hectic for everyone else, but not for myself. I'm taking Tom out for a surprise tonight then he's babysitting the twins (his nieces) Saturday night, leaving me to my lonesome for the first Saturday night in awhile. Sunday I was trying to work out the whole dinner co-op thing, but Fritz is out of town, Chip won't be back till Sunday afternoon and Kelly is going up to Chicago for a quick trip, so I guess that's down the tubes as well... so a whole weekend to myself and I've already got nothing... lol, I need to figure out a game plan!! Any ideas people??Hmmm, well for most of you checking this (if you are) there are a lot of names here you probably don't recognize (thanks for staying in touch!) so feel free to call me on this lonely weekend to catch up and learn all the nitty gritty details (grins).
Day 1
So I was asked to research and explore the blogging world for one of our clients. I figured the best way for me to learn more about it was to experience the world of blogging for myself... so here goes. You have now entered a Day in the Life of an Ag Grad. Prepare to be wowed by my exciting life! Or the averageness that it is... taking that step out of college changes a lot of things. I made a life altering decision to stay here in St. Louis and now I get to see where it will lead me. Who knows what's in store... I mean look at what I'm being paid to do right now!